Desert Island Discs is a radio show that has been broadcast every week in England for 70 years. Each week a different guest comes on the show and selects eight musical selections that they would choose to have with them if they were cast away on a desert island. They are requested to choose music that has been particularly meaningful to them at some point in their life.

So, if you like, I thought it would be fun to play a variation on this theme. I was hoping that a number of you would submit just one favorite musical choice with a brief explanation of why you chose it. I also thought it would be more interesting if you tried to find one that was posted on youtube, preferably with video.

I think the easiest way to respond is to post a link to your selection in the comments, along with your reason for choosing it. I just want to add one final qualification. All submissions should be family friendly.

